So, this is why we wear sunscreen, y’all:


Gross, I know. But here’s the good news– I had my follow up with the surgeon today and the pathology showed no further malignancy, yippee! Unfortunately I won’t be able to get my stitches out until the 27th (sad face), but THANKFULLY I have been cleared to perspire (which means RUNNING!!!), just nothing that would cause tension in the area, so no upper body gym work. Not ideal, but better than nothing. I also had a follow up with my hand surgeon this week, and while I was a little worried going in because the swelling is still persistent and I’m not 100% with my hand yet, he seemed pleased with my progress and reminded me that it will take longer than is typical to fully heal because I had not just one hand/wrist procedure but two.

I am feeling so full of motivation right now and am crazy eager to get back in to the swing of things. I haven’t felt this surge of excitement for running in a long time, so it’s refreshing to finally feel PUMPED and ready to go again. My next big race will be a trail half in October which I plan to run with one of my marathon training participants. I’m so excited to get back in the woods again, I can’t even deal. The MUD and the ROCKS and the WATER and my PEOPLE!!! I CAN’T WAIT!!!! I even made myself a little training log in my journal for the weeks leading up to my next marathon, the Flying Monkey:


The runner can run again and she is finally on the mend with no more medical procedures scheduled. ALL IS WELL IN THE WORLD!

Leave a Reply

