What’s Been Cookin’ in My Kitchen…

image

Chicken Tikka Masala, recipe credited to our very own straightarrowlife. And, DANG, is it good. My picky husband doesn’t usually LOVE food, but he adored this meal and asked for it two weeks in a row. I have to emphasize just how incredibly rare that is– that guy basically eats because he has to in order to stay alive. When he gets excited about a dish? Groundbreaking!! The second time, I made home made naan to go with it. STINKING AMAZING Y’ALL. Great flavor and perfect for boxing up as lunchtime leftovers the next day.

image

Salsa Chicken Casserole, recipe from Budget Bytes. Now this one doesn’t look like much, but it’s one of our favorites. Simple. tasty. good for us. I make this on nights when I’m too busy to spend a lot of time in the kitchen but still want a good homecooked meal.

image

Tacos Al Pastor, recipe from Gimmie Some Oven. I varied from the receipe by leaving my pinapple chunks whole, because the little bits of cooked pineapple are my favorite thing about the tacos al pastor I get from the local Mexican joint. YUMMY! Smoky and full of deliciousness, made even better when topped Mexican style– raw onion, tons of cilantro, and cojita cheese.

image
image

Vegetable beef stew + 5 ingredient beer bread. my mom’s own recipe! Let me know if y’all are interested in that one, though I suspect most of us will be done with soups for the summer. Not me! I am a huge soup person and still make them about once a week, even when it’s a billion degrees outside. I can’t help it! I love soup! Especially when it comes to a meaty, tomato-y, veggie packed one like this.

Grilled marinated chicken + roasted potatoes + Brussels sprouts. This is a simple, easy, and quick dinner I like to throw together when I’m lazy and don’t feel like working hard to put dinner on the table. I LOVE gold potatoes and how they require barely any seasoning to taste good.

Meat + Carbs + Vegetable.

What’s not to love about the basics?

Pulled pork enchiladas. I used the leftover meat from the tacos al pastor for these. Pork + beans wrapped up in flour tortillas, topped with red sauce and cheese. Of course I couldn’t resist adding plenty of sour cream, purple onion, and pickled jalapenos. YUMMY! Another easy dinner that I like to do when I have leftover meat in the freezer and no idea what to do with it.

That’s all for this cooking round up, as you can see I am clearly loving our new kitchen and having no issue getting back into the swing of meal planning. Our bellies are full and our bodies are happy. What have y’all been eating lately, any good recipes to share?

Leave a Reply

