Behold my post-surgery bloatedness in all it’s glory- it’s like a reverse pregnancy progress shot, ha! (also check out how orange I am in the first one, I think that’s because it was on the same day I got home and I was still covered in the iodine they sponge all over you for surgery) Seven days post surgery, and I’m feeling pretty good. The swelling and bloating have gone down almost completely, although I still can’t flex my abdominal muscles because of the incisions, so the rest of that fluff might just be me, haha. I’m slowly trying to wean myself off of the pain killers since they make me feel weird and foggy, but without them I can defintely sense that all is not quite right in my belly. My incisions still hurt, mostly the large one in my belly button which aches almost constantly (probably due to it being a large incision in an area that moves a lot AND having internal stiches in there), and I have some strange cramping pain that seems to go all over, my upper left side, upper right side, belly button, near my hip… I alternate between feeling panicked and thinking “WHAT IF I AM NOT FIXED” and telling myself “CALM DOWN, you had an organ removed, you’re going to feel strange for a little while.”

For the most part, I feel like my self again. I’m eating with no complications (other than some occasional heart burn and nausea, again, most likely a side effect of my body normalizing after losing a digestive organ), and I’m feeling more energetic than I have in a long time. Tonight I’m planning on meeting my mom for my first post run surgery. We’re going for 3 easy, slow, GENTLE miles– because I’m not sure how much pounding my poor little belly button can take. The weather has been glorious the past few days and I’m SO excited to get back on the road and soak up the awesomness that is sunshine, sweat, and endorphins. We actually have a 15k race not this weekend but next, and I’m hoping that a few test runs this week will leave me feeling confident enough to give it a try. Although the marathon in October is out, I’m still holding on to a TINY hope that I will be able to do our local one in December. I looked at the calendar today and I think it’s doable, depending on how quickly I’m able to get back into regular long runs.

All in all, I’m happy, I’m excited, I’m still slightly gimpy, but I’m ready to get back into things 🙂

Leave a Reply

