Health Update: FINALLY!!!

As you might have seen from my post earlier today, I had my upper endoscopy today. The procedure went just fine– as per usual with medical stuff I was a nervous wreck but the nurses were all great, and my gastroenterologist was wonderful as well. Before I knew it, I was back in the procedure room, getting hooked up to all kinds of crazy machines, and the nurse anesthetist was putting the feel-good-sleepy drugs in my IV. I don’t recall this part but apparently my doctor came in and talked to Scott and let him know that everything was totally healthy in my stomach and his suggestion was to have surgery to remove my gallbladder. It took me a while to wake up and when I finally did I had the WORST pain I have ever felt in my entire life in my upper abdomen. It started off as a dull pain (which I’m used to and have almost constantly now), and just kept getting worse and worse to the point where I was 100% sure I was dying; I was shaking, sobbing, writing all over the bed– I’m pretty sure I gave Scott and my nurses a good fright. I have NO idea what set that off, because usually I don’t get pain like that unless I eat and I hadn’t eaten in over 12 hours. Thankfully it subsided eventually and I was sent home with a referral for a surgeon in hand.

My father in law just so happens to be friends with a general surgeon– Dr. Shepperd. They have known each other for years and get breakfast together every Wednesday. So my FIL called him up and asked if he could see me soon, and Dr. Shepperd was gracious enough to tell me to come on over right then! It was a whirlwind morning. After hearing all of my symptoms and reviewing my test results, he agreed that the best course of action is to go ahead and remove my gallbladder. He echoed what I’ve heard from my other doctors in saying it’s very possible for tests to come back normal and still have a sick gallbladder. There’s a 10% chance that I could still have pain after the surgery is over, and while that’s a little scary for the neurotic part of my brain, the logical side of it is screaming “PLEASE DO ANYTHING THAT HAS A CHANCE TO FIX THIS.” Ha…

So, I’m scheduled surgery on Monday. I’m terrified (I don’t know if I’ll ever stop being unreasonably scared of medical procedures) and really, really ready for some relief. And really ready to eat cheese again.

Leave a Reply

