Six miles done, all before 7am.

There are a few people in my half training group that meet up for the Thursday runs at 5am. That’s WAY too early for me in general, but:

  1. Our coach promised a surprise adventure for anyone that showed up
  2. Scott and I have a date tonight with his best friend and his new girl, so I knew I wouldn’t have time to get the miles in after work.

With those two things in mind, I begrudgingly rolled out of bed at the crack of dawn and met up with the group. Not going to lie, my thoughts were definitely somewhere along the lines of “I CANNOT BELIEVE PEOPLE WAKE UP THIS EARLY ON PURPOSE.” But once we got started my spirits immediately lifted, as is usually the case with early morning runs.

Turns out the surprise was that we were going to be taking a departure from our typical pavement pounding– TRAIL RUNNING! We ended up at a local nature preserve, and there was definitely no shortage of adventure. Over the trails, through a muddy field of corn, across a bridge, around a fence, and through the creek– all while watching the sun rise and deer and other forest creatures scatter around us.

Only the bravest survived. Okay, not really, we all survived. Myself just barely though. 🙂

So what do you guys think are the chances that I can get away with a nap in my desk chair now?

Leave a Reply

